Coming back to the “real” world…

Posted on Updated on


Good morning, Write Edge readers! I’m back from vacation and have rejoined the “real” world. Adventures in a new place and time (well, time zone anyway) always make me look at the world a little differently when I return. To that end, I’m sharing this week’s quote in the hopes of encouraging some of you to take some time off and change your perspective.

In a slight departure from our normal routine, I’m sharing this week’s quote here in the main post because I think it fits so well how I feel about the end of another lovely trip with my family:

“It’s a funny thing, coming home. Nothing changes. Everything looks the same, feels the same, even smells the same. You realize what’s changed is you.”

F. Scott Fitzgerald, author of The Great Gatsby

I’ve posted this week’s short writing for you. Because it’s a flash piece, I won’t share an excerpt. Just check it out now on The Write Edge Writing Workshop.

On Wednesday I’ll share a brand new book review with you. In a follow up to her hit, Behind Closed Doors, B.A. Paris is back with her latest thriller called The Breakdown. Find out this Wednesday on The Write Edge Bookshelf just what I thought of the book.

More writing prompts will come on Thursday for next week’s short fiction, and on Friday I’ll share special vacation Spurts on Growth Chart.

Have a fantastic week, readers!

E.R.G.

Leave a Reply

