Posted on


Good morning, Write Edge readers! First, a happy belated Mother’s Day to all my readers. We all, regardless of our own “mom status,” have a part in this day. If we’re not moms ourselves, then we have moms (or mom figures) who have loved us, taken care of us, worried about us, watched over us, yelled at us — and had the ultimate satisfaction of saying they’ve known us from the beginning. They’re keepers of our pasts, warts and all.

Sometimes those pasts contain good things; sometimes they contain bad things. Whatever happens as we grow up and grow old, those experiences help define us. They don’t, however, have to entrap us. I watched a movie this weekend that encapsulated that thought and gave me this week’s motivational quote. Find the quote now on “A Writer’s Heartbeats.”

It’s easy to let personal challenges come in the way of us working to accomplish our dreams. Sometimes those personal challenges hamper our growth. Sometimes those experiences inform our future. For a fun take on this, you can check out this week’s short fiction. Here’s an excerpt:

“Well…what if I, I don’t know, made you younger or something?” I asked, the first spiders of panic crawling up my legs. “Would that help?”

The wizard scoffed. “Right, as if changing my age is going to do anything. I’m. Done.”

And before I could argue any more points, before I could even beg for a second chance, he vanished. Poof. Into thin air.

Read the whole story now on The Write Edge Writing Workshop!

On Wednesday I’ll have a brand new book review to share with you. This week I’ll let you know what I thought of The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman. Find that review in the middle of the week on The Write Edge Bookshelf!

This Thursday there will be brand new writing prompts for next week’s story, and at the end of the week on Growth Chart how an eight-year-old copes with disappointment — and why a parent doesn’t always have to be first in line to help.

Have a great week, readers!

E.R.G.

Leave a Reply

