Almost halfway through the year!

Posted on


Hello, Write Edge readers! Can you believe it’s the beginning of May?? Yesterday I spoke to my mother on the phone, and she told me to call a family friend today because May 1 was the friend’s birthday. I scoffed and told her that May started later in the week, and she paused in that awkward way people do when you say something incredibly stupid.

Then I realized: today is the first day of May. Which means we’re almost halfway through the year. Is anyone else just as surprised?

It’s been an interesting year thus far for me in writing and storytelling, and I think I’m enjoying my writing more now than I have in a while. Part of that is because I’m slowly learning how to make the most of my time, and sometimes knowing how to do that requires a subtle shift in our day. For more on this idea, find this week’s motivational quote on “A Writer’s Heartbeats.”

Speaking of efficiency and effectiveness (and if you didn’t catch that reference, go back and read the quote,) I’ve posted this week’s short story. Ironically, it touches on these very ideas. Here’s an excerpt:

One would assume willpower needs a great deal of personal investment in the outcome. Nothing could be further from the truth. Willpower simply requires a decision. A firm, unshakeable decision to pursue a course of action.

Read the whole story now on The Write Edge Writing Workshop!

I started a new book over the weekend, but I’m not sure yet whether I’ll be done with it in time to post a review this Wednesday on The Write Edge Bookshelf. Guess we’ll all find out together sometime in the middle of the week, won’t we? :>

On Thursday I’ll post new writing prompts for next week’s short fiction, and at the end of the week it’s back to Spurts on Growth Chart!

Have a great day, readers!

E.R.G.

